George Koowaree retains KCC Ashford East

Ballot boxGeorge Koowaree has retained his seat as Kent County Council Councillor for Ashford East.

George is the existing KCC Councillor and Ashford Borough Council member for North Willesborough




Election Candidate Party Votes %
George Koowaree Liberal Democrat 1426 41% Elected
Larry William Krause Conservative 971 28% Not elected
Martin Chandler Labour 534 15% Not elected
Garry George Harrison UK Independence Party 338 10% Not elected
Steven Robert Campkin Green Party 191 6% Not elected

Voting Summary

Details Number
Seats 1
Total votes 3460
Electorate 12888
Number of ballot papers issued 3467
Number of ballot papers rejected 7
Turnout 27%

Dara Farrell takes KCC Ashford South

Dara Farrell, Labour Candidate, has been elected as Kent County Council Councillor for Ashford South Division, winning 32% of the vote of a 23% turnout.

Dara is the also the Ashford Borough Council member for Victoria Ward

Conservative candidate, David Robey, came a close second with 30% of the vote.


Election Candidate Party Votes %
Dara Farrell Labour 1022 32% Elected
David Robey Conservative 966 30% Not elected
Ryan Paul MacPherson UK Independence Party 727 23% Not elected
James Angus Galloway Liberal Democrat 312 10% Not elected
Claire Madeleine Wallington Green Party 146 5% Not elected

Voting Summary

Details Number
Seats 1
Total votes 3173
Electorate 13910
Number of ballot papers issued 3176
Number of ballot papers rejected 3
Turnout 23%

Notice of vacancy – Victoria Ward

Ballot boxCasual vacancy in the office of Borough Councillor

Notice is hereby given under Section 87 (2) of the Local Government Act 1972 that following the death of Harold Apps a casual vacancy has arisen in the Office of Borough Councillor for the Victoria (Ashford) Ward of Ashford Borough Council. To call an election a request must be made in writing to the Returning Officer at the address below by TWO local government electors in the local authority area.

Terence Mortimer Returning Officer 22 April 2017

KCC Election candidates announced

The candidates for the Kent County Council elections on 4th May have been announced.

The candidates for Ashford South Division (includes Beaver and Victoria district wards) are:

  • Dara Farrell – 38 Luddenham Close, Ashford, Kent, TN23 5SE – Labour Party
  • James Galloway – 21 Jemmett Road, Ashford, TN23 4QD – Liberal Democrats
  • Ryan Macpherson – 105 Beaver Lane, Ashford, Kent, TN23 5NU – UKIP
  • David Robey – The Old Farmhouse, Faversham Road, Throwley, Faversham, Kent, ME13 0JN – Conservative Party
  • Claire Wallington –  12 Baileys Field, Ashford, Kent, TN23 4XE – Green Party

The Candidates for Ashford East Division (includes Norman district ward) are:

  • Steven Campkin – 7 High Trees Close, Willesborough, Ashford, Kent, TN24 0ND – Green Party
  • Martin Chandler – 88 Christchurch Road, Ashford, Kent, TN23 7UZ – Labour Party
  • Garry Harrison – 2 The Haven, Appledore Road, TN29 9UB – UKIP
  • George Koowaree – 28 Tadworth Road, Kennington, Ashford, TN24 9LA – Liberal Democrats
  •  Larry Krause – Stable Cottage, Church Lane, Hothfield, Ashford, Kent, TN26 1EL – Conservative Party

You must register by 13th April to vote in this elections

For more information about the KCC elections, visit the KCC website

SACF drafts response to LGBCE proposals

ABC warding proposal for South Ashford

LGBCE Draft Recommendations for wards in South Ashford

South Ashford Community Forum (SACF) have reviewed the Draft Recommendations for wards for Ashford Borough Council, produced by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE), and have drafted a response.

SACF is concerned because the LGBCE Draft Recommendations fail to address issues raised by them regarding the pattern of wards serving South Ashford. They also believe that inadequate provision has been made for new development in South Ashford and the town centre.

SACF has produced alternative proposals which address these matters. SACF’s response can be viewed on the South Ashford website under Local Information/Representation/Electoral Review and will be discussed at their meeting on 22nd March.


LGBCE fails to sort out South Ashford wards

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England have adopted Ashford Borough Council’s proposals for ward boundaries for Ashford. This leaves an amended Victoria Ward split by the main railway line through Ashford and isolates the Watercress area even more so than with the existing ward boundaries.

South Ashford Community Forum believes this is a lost opportunity to rationalise the wards and will comment on the proposals. Its proposals can be seen on its website .

The draft proposals can be seen on the LGBCE website http://

Overview and scrutiny in local government inquiry

Commons Select Committee for Communities and Local Government

Opens: 24 January 2017
Closes: 10 March 2017

The Communities and Local Government (CLG) Committee launches inquiry into overview and scrutiny in local government. The Committee will consider whether overview and scrutiny arrangements in England are working effectively and whether local communities are able to contribute to and monitor the work of their councils

Governance failings

Overview and scrutiny arrangements were introduced by the Local Government Act in 2000 as a counterweight to increasing decision-making powers of Leaders and Cabinets or directly elected mayors. Shortcomings have been exposed, however, following a number of high profile cases, including child sexual exploitation in Rotherham, poor care and high mortality rates at Mid Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust and governance failings in Tower Hamlets. (more…)